• James Anderson's Facebook profile
  • Twitter Updates

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Two Eyes

I have read quite a few articles and posts that say shooting with two eyes open, instead of just one, is better. You become more accurate and consistent.

So this morning at the indoor range (the basement) I gave this at try. First shot was dead on and I was surprised. After that shot about 10 more times with both eyes and was dead on each time.

I am going to keep practicing this. It does a feel a little odd but man if the results stay like they are I will get used to it!

Any thoughts on this?

2 Responses

  1. Hi James.
    I shoot traditional, and have also been told that shooting with both eyes open increases accuracy.

    I don’t believe it has anything to do with stereoscopic vision, but rather with not having to think about keeping one eye closed, which does put some stress into the system.

    After a while, your brain just stops paying attention to input from the non-dominant eye while you’re aiming. The same thing happens when you use monocular telescopes and microscopes.

  2. I’ve always just used one to shoot with. I think I’ll give this try and see what happens. May take a while to get used to, but I’ll give it a shot .

Leave a Reply

